Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Dealing with the Elephant in the Room: A Pastoral Care Response to Systemic Racism in the Age of Black Lives Matter

October 16, 2020 @ 8:00 am - 1:15 pm

| $40


We’d like to invite you to join us for an upcoming SC Society of Chaplains webinar on Friday, October 16. Entitled “Dealing with the Elephant in the Room: A Pastoral Care Response to Systemic Racism in the Age of Black Lives Matter,” the meeting will feature Bishop Kenneth L. Carder and Pastor & Chaplain Leon R. Maxwell as well as a roundtable discussion. Register here.

Bishop Kenneth L. Carder is Professor Emeritus of the Practice of Christian Ministry, Duke Divinity School, and Senior Visiting Professor at Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary. He also serves as volunteer chaplain of the memory care facility at the Heritage at Lowman in Chapin, SC. Dr. Carder also served United Methodist congregations in Eastern Tennessee and Southwest Virginia for 32 years.

As a bishop, he was actively engaged in the United Methodist Episcopal Initiative on Children and Poverty and the primary author of the foundation document for that Initiative. The Mississippi Conference presented him with the “Drum Major for Justice Award” and the State Legislature honored him for his work on behalf of racial and economic justice.

Pastor & Chaplain Leon R. Maxwell currently serves as the Pastor of Historic St. Peter’s AME Church since January 2010. St. Peter’s AME Church is the first “black church” in Colleton County after the ratification of the Emancipation Proclamation in 1867. Pastor Maxwell also currently serves as chaplain at Bon Secour Saint Francis Hospital and is the Judicatory Representative for the AME Church on the South Carolina Christian Action Council.

All meetings are open to Society members, professional staff chaplains, and directors of pastoral care programs, CPE faculty, CPE students and others interested in healthcare in South Carolina.

Registration information is available here.

October 16, 2020
8:00 am – 1:15 pm (Central Time)
9:00 am – 2:15 pm (Eastern Time)
7:00 am – 12:15 pm (Mountain Time)
6:00 am – 11:15 am (Pacific Time)

Details

Date:
October 16, 2020
Time:
8:00 am - 1:15 pm
Cost:
$40
Website:
https://fs8.formsite.com/surveyschaorg/Chaplains/index.html