Home / Certification / E-Learning Module and Post-Test 

E-Learning Module and Post-Test 

Applicants from the Archdiocese of Chicago: Please note that your Archdiocese has specific ERD requirements, and these requirements must be fulfilled before the Archdiocese will grant an endorsement for your certification. Please contact the NACC Office for those specific requirements. You will be directed to take another course instead of the one offered here by CHA.

To meet the requirements of NACC Competency ITP4.1

ITP 4.1 Demonstrate an understanding of The Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services.

the NACC Certification Applicant will complete an eLearning module, read the Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services, and take a ten (10) question Post-Test. The Applicant is required to score 80 percent or better to pass the test.

1. Complete the eLearning Module

This ethics education resource provides important information about the meaning and application of the Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services (ERDs) for Catholic health ministry. The interactive resource features instructor Ron Hamel, Ph.D., Catholic Health Association senior ethicist, along with Church leaders, physicians and ministry leaders. The course addresses the General Introduction and each of the six parts of the ERDs. Components include case studies, response keys, facilitator guide, glossary of ERD terms, selected readings, and more.

  • The content of this eLearning module is copyrighted by the Catholic Health Association, and is being shared for the exclusive use of the NACC. The contents may not be manipulated or changed in any way. NACC members may not share the link.
  • Each section of the module has an introductory prayer, a video, and case studies to review. Intentional study of the video material, reading the case studies, and discerning the application questions which follow each case study will enhance Applicants’ successful completion of the required NACC post-test.
  • Access the eLearning Module on the CHA website.

2. Read the Ethical and Religious Directives 

Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services published by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.

3. Take the Post-Test

  • Access the ERD Post-Test. (You will need your NACC Member ID to take the test.)
  • You must pass the test with a minimum score of 8/10 points in order to apply for certification. Once you complete this test, the NACC will automatically receive your test score. If you received 7 or fewer points on your test, please take the test again after you re-read the ERDs. If you received 8 or more points, you have passed, and need to do nothing else.